Repurposed Balloon Necklace

Ok, here’s a little something for the weekend!  My posts haven’t been as prolific as usual this week, for a few reasons:

  1. I’m knocking myself out trying to drum up a few sponsors for our lovely projects
  2. With some guidance from the fabulous crew over on the Regretsy forums, I’ve been updating our Etsy shop.
  3. I have the flu.  😦

But while I’ve been sofa-ridden and regaled by the best of Britain’s Got Talent (can you believe a dog is the most talented citizen in Britain?) my nimble fingers have been at work with a kid friendly project for you:

rainbow balloon necklace,

I give you:  the repurposed balloon necklace.  If your kids are like mine, you know that balloons rank third on the list of World’s Most Fun items, right behind 1) bubbles and 2) mud.  With every birthday there’s a restock, and just when you’ve managed to get rid of them all your kids go off to other children’s parties– and bring home more balloons in the party bag.  This is what my kids like to do with balloons:

  1. Get mummy to blow up balloon
  2. Stretch the neck of the balloon so that it shrieks in mummy’s ear.
  3. Repeat steps 1 and 2 approximately 500 times until balloon pops..
  4. Get mummy to blow up another balloon.
  5. Release balloon  and watch it fly around the room to accompanying flatulent noises
  6. Watch mummy try to retrieve the balloon before the dog eats it.
  7. Repeat steps 4-6 approximately 500 times until the dog manages to eat a balloon
  8. Get mummy to blow up another balloon and tie it up.
  9. Rub it on mummy’s head and stick it to the wall
  10. Hit your sister with it until it pops.
  11. Repeat steps 8-10 approximately 500 times until you run out of balloons or mummy sends you to bed.

Now, as much fun as all of that is, sometimes I get a bit of balloon fatigue.  I wanted to find something a little different to do with the balloons and this is what I came up with.  All you need is:

  • lots of balloons
  • 1 piece of elastic
  • scissors.

Snip a small hole in the end of each balloon and thread them onto the elastic (or have your kids do it) and tie the ends together.  That’s it!  My two-year old’s verdict:  “Oooh, it has a rainbow.  That’s very beauty.”  Works for me!

If you fancy some more ideas for repurposing those excess balloons, check out this post by Candoodles.  The stools and benches just blew my mind!

Update:  Ok, so apparently some other groovy folk had the same idea.  And they wrote a tutorial with many pretty pictures–check it out here:  Michelle Paige.  Clearly, I’m going to have to ramp up my awesomeness if I’m going to be unique! 

Leave a Reply

